7 Apr 2011

Solomons PM confident after getting six more MPs' support

1:27 pm on 7 April 2011

A spokesperson for the Solomon Islands government says the Prime Minister believes he can defeat the opposition's motion of no confidence now six more MPs have crossed the floor.

The Prime Minister's press secretary David Tuhanuku says the former opposition leader Steve Abana is among those to join the government, along with Rick Hou, Clay Soalaoi, Connelly Sandabatu, Andrew Keniasia and Peter Tom.

Mr Tuhanuku says the government now has 37 MPs, putting Prime Minister Danny Philip in a strong position

"Definitely with the latest move by six members of the opposition to the government I think that the Prime Minister is quite confident that he will be in the position to defeat the motion of no confidence should the honourable leader of the opposition decide to go ahead and move it."

David Tuhanuku says the Prime Minister has yet to say whether any of his new MPs will be given ministerial positions.

The opposition office says it's yet to receive official resignation letters, and still plans to proceed with the no confidence motion tomorrow.