6 Aug 2010

Familiar faces returned in Solomons election

10:16 am on 6 August 2010

Sixteen members have now been declared by returning officers in the Solomon Islands General election.

Among them are five new MPs.

Jo O'Brien reports from Honiara.

"While there are five new MPs, including Lional Alex who takes over from Trevor Olova in South Vella la Vella, many of the old faces have been returned. They include Manasseh Sogavare in North East Choisuel, Snyder Rini in Marovo, Matthew Wale in Auki Langalanga, Toswell Kaua in Begu/Asifola. Also back are Seth Gukuna and Job Dudley Tausinga. Counting has been slow in some constituencies though, and the Electoral Commissioner Sir Peter Kenilora says he doubts all results will be through by Sunday as had been expected. Security has been tight at polling stations in Honiara, with about dozen police officers overseeing the arrival of ballot boxes at the Rove police club yesterday."