20 May 2010

After latest meeting Nauru parliament remains deadlocked

1:12 pm on 20 May 2010

A brief meeting this morning of the Nauru Parliament has again failed to resolve a political stalemate.

Parliament has now met eight times since early elections in April returned the same 18 MPs but has failed to become a functioning assembly.

Godfrey Thoma, who was an opposition MP before the election, was made the Speaker last Thursday but he resigned five days later.

The caretaker government, led by Marcus Stephen, says it believes it can continue to run the country without difficulty until the end of next month.

The former opposition is pushing for new elections.