27 Apr 2010

Re-elected Nauru parliament fails to elect Speaker

2:29 pm on 27 April 2010

The first session of the new Parliament in Nauru has failed to elect a Speaker.

The 18 MPs who made up the previous parliament were all returned in a poll on Saturday, which had been called after unsuccessful efforts by the opposition to remove the government through votes of no confidence.

The Government Information Office says the first sitting was adjourned after 40 minutes when it failed to elect a Speaker.

Four nominations for the position were made, but all were declined.

The MPs have agreed that since the election results were only finalised on Monday, more time is needed for consultations.

Parliament is now to resume on Thursday, with the Marcus Stephen administration continuing in a caretaker capacity.