20 Apr 2010

Tonga parliament votes on amended boundaries

9:54 pm on 20 April 2010

Tonga's Parliament has unanimously voted for the Boundaries Commission's second option on where the electoral boundaries should lie for the democratic reforms to apply from the election this November.

Under this option the main island of Tongatapu will have 10 Electorates, with the amended boundaries proposed by government.

This is an increase of seven representatives from the current three on Tongatapu.

There's to be an increase to three from two representatives in Vava'u.

Ha'apai retains its two representatives; the two Niuas and 'Eua retain their single electorates.

As such there is no attachment of any of the outer islands to Tongatapu or Vava'u as had been urged by Government as recently as Monday.

Tonga's nobles broke with tradition and sided with the People's Representatives to out-vote the Cabinet over the boundary proposal on Tuesday.