21 May 2009

New Zealand Australian rugby unions open to door for Pacific players in new competition

1:43 pm on 21 May 2009

The Pacific rugby union players could be the big winners in the expanded Super14 competition

The SANZAR countries - South Africa, New Zealand and Australia - have agreed to replace the existing Super 14 competition with a 15-team tournament from 2011.

The Australian Rugby Union has vowed to help more Pacific players join the expanded Super 15 competition if they win the right to field an extra team.

CEO Matt Carroll says part of this expansion and opportunity is also for the Pacific players.

The New Zealand Rugby Union Players Association Chief Executive, Rob Nichols they're also mindful of what they can do for Pacific players.

"One of the best things we can do for Pacific Island players is to allow their players to play in this competiton more readily the currently play in New Zealand teams and they can get in Australian teams but really just open the doors a bit more there."

Rob Nichols