31 Mar 2008

Two new Solomon Islands MPs will shortly be welcomed to Parliament

8:11 pm on 31 March 2008

In Solomon Islands two newly elected Malaita MPs will soon join parliament after by-election victories last Thursday.

The two are Mathew Cooper Wale who won the Aoke Langalanga seat and Manasseh Maelanga who secured a landslide victory in the East Malaita constituency.

In unofficial results from the Government Information unit, Mr Wale won by a margin of over 500 votes from Billy Manu..

In East Malaita, Mr Maelanga got more than 1700 votes with the second placed candidate, David Toifai Misitomu, getting just over 700.

Mr Wale is a former secretary to Prime Minister, Dr Derek Sikua, and has been prominent in Solomon Islands civil society.