20 Jun 2007

Alinghi hits snag

10:25 am on 20 June 2007

The America's Cup defender Alinghi is locked in an unresolved legal tussle with regatta officials just days before its first race against Team New Zealand.

Alinghi has developed a new system of cables supporting its mast, but so far the regatta Measurer has not allowed them to use it the way they want to.

After a hearing the regatta jury voted three to two that the measurer had gone too far, and there will now be a new ruling on the Alinghi system.

Team New Zealand has monitored proceedings but made no comment.

Racing starts on Saturday night.