8 Jan 2007

Fiji appoints eight interim ministers

4:20 pm on 8 January 2007

Fiji's president Ratu Josefa Iloilo has sworn in eight interim ministers at Government House this morning.

The former environment minister Poseci Bune has been appointed interim minister for the Public Service, while the former speaker of parliament, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau has been made the interim minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade.

Manu Korovulavula, a former senator, is the interim minister for Transport Works and Energy, while Netani Sukanaivalu has been appointed the interim minister for Education.

The interim health minister is Dr Jona Senilagakali, and the interim minister for Commerce and Industry, Taito Waradi.

Suva lawyer Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum has been appointed the interim Justice Minister and Attorney General, while former senator Lady Laufitu Malani has been appointed the interim Minister for Women and Social welfare.

Another eight interim ministers will be sworn in tomorrow morning.