9 Nov 2006

Faleomavaega re-elected for 10th term as American Samoa's Congress delegate

9:48 am on 9 November 2006

Congressman Faleomavaega Eni Hunkin has been re-elected to a 10th term as American Samoa's non voting delegate in Congress.

He polled 5,195 ballots according to provisional results.

Aumau Amata Coleman received 4493 votes and Muavaefaatasi Ae Ae Jr. received 1345 ballots.

Faleomavaega said it was a great result

"I just to say that I am very grateful for the voters of Tutuila and Manu'a for giving me this opportunity again to serve them. And I am about 99.9 per cent sure that I will be getting a committee chairmanship either at the House of International relations committee or the House Resources committee."

In the House of Representatives race , a major upset was the defeat of House Speaker Matagi Ray McMoore in Fagatogo.

Village mayor Leapai Sipa Anoai won the election by 4 votes, but the result is likely to be challenged.

Police says voting went relatively smoothly and there were no election related incidents.