10 Aug 2006

Australia to join IRB five nations tournament next year

9:10 am on 10 August 2006

The Australian Rugby Union has confirmed that an Australian A side will take part in the Pacific Five Nations tournament next year taking the number of teams to six.

This year's inaugural five nations tournament was won by New Zealand and included teams from Samoa, Tonga, Fiji and Japan.

The confirmation comes after the International Rugby Board tournament committee met with stakeholders in Fiji to review the Pacific Rugby Cup and the Pacific Five Nations tournaments.

The tournament has been renamed the Pacific Six Nations.