18 Feb 2006

Solomon Islands caretaker PM reshuffles cabinet

11:22 am on 18 February 2006

The Solomon Islands caretaker prime minister, Sir Allan Kemakeza has reshuffled six of his cabinet ministers.

Sir Allan has moved Basil Manelegua to the Reconciliation portfolio.

Augustine Taneko becomes Telecoms minister.

James Tora now becomes Energy minister.

Simeon Bouro becomes Minister of Police.

The last two changes see the Fisheries Minister, Mathias Taro and the Minister of Forestry, David Holosivi swap portfolios.

The prime minister says all the changes are to ensure the ministers' capabilities and capacities are optimally utilised.

A general election is set to be held in early April.