17 May 2005

Officials from nine countries meet to discuss PICTA free trade agreement

8:16 am on 17 May 2005

Senior officials from nine Pacific Island countries have met in Fiji to discuss the implementation of the free trade agreement known as PICTA.

The Pacific Island Countries Trade Agreement was signed by Forum leaders in 2001 and entered into force in April 2003.

The agreement aims to provide duty free access on eligible goods over a period of eight to 10 years.

The meeting detailed the items on a Negative List that will be initially protected under the agreement.

The countries that have ratified PICTA are the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands and Tonga.