5 Jan 2005

American Samoa leaders elect new Senate President

10:40 am on 5 January 2005

Senators in American Samoa have elected a leading orator from the Manu'a group as the new Senate President.

Lolo Letalu Moliga was elected unanimously to the presidency of the Senate, after he was selected by a vote of 11 to six, to become interim chairman to lead the election over Senator Tuaolo Fruean.

Tuaolo condeded the Senate leadership to Lolo saying that perhaps it wasn't his time to lead the Senate nor was it the will of God that he took up the coveted seat.

He said the islanders of Tutuila would throw their support behind those of the Manu'a group in this instance.

Meanwhile Matagi Ray McMoore was unanimously re-elected to a third term as Speaker of the territorial House of Representatives.