15 Sep 2004

Final results in Cook Island elections announced

8:56 pm on 15 September 2004

The final results from the last 4 constituencies in the Cook Island elections have been released.

The Cook Island Party members Tupou Faireka and Wilkie Rasmussen won the seats of Tupapa Maraerenga and Penryhn.

The Democrats' Albert Nicholas and Tiaki Wuatai won Avatiu and Pukapuka.

The Ivi Rua constituency on Mangaia was uncontested and has been awarded to Jim Marurai who belongs to the Democratic party.

Earlier the incumbent prime minister, Dr Robert Woonton, won his seat by 4 votes over the president of the Cook Islands party, Henry Puna.