7 Jul 2004

Australian and New Zealand Prime Ministers get a gong from Solomon Islands.

1:10 pm on 7 July 2004

The Solomon Islands prime minister, Sir Allan Kemakeza, has used the 26th anniversary of Solomon Islands' independence from Britain to announce a number of new awards.

The Prime Ministers of Australia and New Zealand, John Howard and Helen Clark, have both been awarded the Star of Solomon Islands for what the citation calls 'their distinguished contributions to the restoration of peace and stability in Solomon Islands through the Regional Assistance Mission" or RAMSI.

And two members of RAMSI, co-ordinator, Nick Warner, and the outgoing police commander, Ben McDevitt, have both been awarded the Cross of Solomon Islands.