13 Jan 2004

Marshalls president Note sworn in for second 4-year term

7:26 am on 13 January 2004

The Marshall Islands president, Kessai Note, has been sworn in for a second four-year term.

Mr Note has named two new ministers - they are Donald Capelle and Mattlan Zachras who at 33 is the youngest member of the legislature.

They replace Tadashi Lometo and Nidel Lorak.

Mr Note has yet to allocate portfolios.

The opposition boycotted the ceremony, with the exception of Hiroshi Yamamura, who is the president's brother-in-law.