30 Apr 2019

RAVEL arr Knight: Mother Goose Suite

From Music Alive, 8:00 pm on 30 April 2019

Septura Photo: Supplied

These 1910 'Five Children’s Pieces', originally piano duets, are based on well-known fairy tales. Several of the movements feature lengthy quotations from the fairy tales, and the results are like miniature tone poems – perhaps too literally representational of the narrative to be described as Impressionist, but nevertheless embracing all of the colour and mood for which that movement strived.

  • The Pavane of the Sleeping Beauty
  • Tom Thumb
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Little Ugly Girl, Empress of the Pagodas
  • The Fairy Garden

Septura: Simon Cox, Huw Morgan, Alan Thomas (trumpets), Matthew Knight, Matthew Gee, Dan West (trombones), Pete Smith (tuba)

Recorded 30 April 2019, Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington by RNZ Concert

Sound engineer: Graham Kennedy