Navigation for Gisborne International Music Competition

Gisborne International Music Competition 2015

Radio New Zealand Concert recorded the semifinal and final rounds of the Gisborne competition in December 2015. Listen below.

Congratulations to all the prize winners

1st prize Jun Hong Loh - Violin
2nd Prize Matthias Balzat - Cello
3rd Prize Mary Osborne - Saxophone
Most Promising Player Award Jimmy Park - Violin
Pultron Composites Award for the best performance by a New Zealand composer Bryony Gibson-Cornish - Viola
Holdsworth Family Bach Prize Kate Oswin - Violin
Anne Tolley Woodwind Player Award Pearl Huang - Flute
Antonio Strings String Player Award Sam Lucas - Cello
Edgar Brass Player Award Dale Hounsome-Vail - Trombone

The jurors in 2015 are Justine Cormack, violinist of NZTrio, and Matthew Wilkie, principal bassoonist of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe.

The piano accompanists are Rosemary Barnes, Sarah Watkins and Rafaella Garlick-Grice.