Backstage at one of the biggest events on the local music calendar, we capture winning reactions and live performances from the show. The Silver Scrolls focus on songwriting, and the ceremony features re-imagined versions of the finalists songs. Pulling it all together is this year’s musical director John Toogood of Shihad.

The Winners!

APRA Maioha Award - celebrating contemporary Maori music: Te Awanui Reeder, David Atai & Scotty Morrison - 'Matahīapo' performed by AWA (Mushroom Music Pty Ltd)

SOUNZ Contemporary Award - recognising creative excellence by a contemporary composer: Alex Taylor - '[inner]'

Inducted in the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame are: Herbs - Dilworth Karaka, Toni Fonoti, Phil Toms, Spencer Fusimalohi, John Berkley, Fred Faleauto and Charles Tumahai (deceased), Maurice Watene, Tama Lundon, Jack Allen, Carl Perkins, Willie Hona, Thom Nepia, Tama Renata, Gordon Joll, Grant Pukeroa, Kristen Hapi.

Most Performed Work in New Zealand (most played on radio and television in New Zealand): "Love Love Love" - Dave Baxter, performed by Avalanche City (Sony/ATV Music Publishing)

Most Performed Work Overseas (most played on radio and television overseas): "Don’t Dream it’s Over" by Neil Finn

Silver Scroll


Silver Scrolls
Clockwise: The 17 members of Herbs past and present being inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame; Laughton Kora performing Herbs’ song 'Rust In Dust'; The Nudge; and Stephanie Brown, “Lips” accepting the Silver Scroll. Photographs by Topic Photography and courtesy of APRA.